Tech's Nohea Waiwaiole and Megan Morris Earn All-CCC Honors

Oregon Tech Eye.jpg

LA GRANDE, Ore. – Oregon Tech's Nohea Waiwaiole has been named to the All-Cascade Collegiate Conference Team with with fellow Owl Megan Morris picking up Honorable Mention recognition.  Eastern Oregon junior guard Maya Ah You Dias was voted the Cascade Collegiate Conference Player of the Year by the league's coaches, heading the 12-person All-CCC team that was released Tuesday by the conference office.

Waiwaiole, a junior from Portland, Oregon finished the season averaging 10.4 points per game, 7.7 rebounds per game and was second in the CCC with 5.63 assists per game in leading the Owls to 20-12 overall record as they finished fourth in the CCC standings. 

Morris, a junior from Klamath Falls, Oregon led the Owls in scoring with a 10.9 average per game.  

Ah You Dias led the Mountaineers to a regular-season title and a 20-0 CCC slate by ranking among the conference leaders in seven major categories: points (18.9, 1st), assists (3.8, 7th), steals (2.4, 5th), field-goal percentage (53.7, 6th), defensive rebounds (4.2, 15th), free-throw percentage (89.2, 2nd) and 3-point percentage (48.3, 3rd).

Anji Weissenfluh, who captured her 400th career victory this season, was voted CCC Coach of the Year for the sixth time in her career. In addition to Ah You Dias the Mountaineers had two All-CCC team selections – senior guard Payton Parrish (15.7 points, 6.9 rebounds) and senior forward Stormee Van Belle (13.8 points, 6.3 rebounds). Van Belle also picked up Defensive Player of the Year hardware.

Northwest Christian's Anamaria Virjoghe garnered Freshman-of-the-Year honors and led the Beacons with 16 points, 6.8 rebounds, and 2.3 block shots per game.

There were three repeat selections: Ah You Dias, Van Belle and Langenhorst

Below is the complete list of the honorees.

Player of the Year – Maya Ah You Dias, Eastern Oregon
Defensive Player of the Year – Stormee Van Belle, Eastern Oregon
Freshman of the Year – Anamaria Virjoghe, Northwest Christian
Coach of the Year – Anji Weissenfluh, Eastern Oregon

Name Pos. YR Institution Hometown
Maya Ah You Dias G JR Eastern Oregon Middleton, Idaho
Maci Bozett G SR Corban Lebanon, Ore.
Toria Bradford G SR Southern Oregon Oregon City, Ore.
Katerina Brejchova G SR Northwest Christian Prague, Czech Republic
Alyssa Case G JR College of Idaho Boise, Idaho
Miranda Langenhorst P JR Northwest Susanville, Calif.
Yaremi Mejia G SR Southern Oregon Medford, Ore.
Payton Parrish G SR Eastern Oregon Grandview, Wash.
Mariah Stacona G JR Northwest Madras, Ore.
Stormee Van Belle F SR Eastern Oregon Sunnyside, Wash.
Anamaria Virjoghe P FR Northwest Christian Targoviste, Romania
Nohea Waiwaiole P JR Oregon Tech Portland, Ore.

Honorable Mention –Megan Morris, Oregon Tech; Bailey Allen WPU; Ariel Augustine, SOU; Jocelyn Cook-Cox, CI; Jahpera McEachin, TESC; Morgan McKinney, NCU; Darbi Pink, WPU; Mariah Swanson, EOU; Jordan Woodvine, CRB; Emily Yost, CRB.

Press release from Oregon Tech Sports Information, Mike Garrard - Director of Sports Information and Marketing