Tech’s Waiwaiole Named All-American Third Team


KANSAS CITY, Mo. – After a standout season and career, Oregon Tech senior Nohea Waiwaiole (Portland, Oregon) was named to the NAIA All-American Third Team, the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced on Thursday.

Waiwaiole was also named a Cascade Collegiate Conference First Team recipient earlier this year. She is in the fourth Owl in the last six years and seventh all-time at OIT to be recognized on a national level, following Morgan Roberts-Eli Honorable Mention in 2017, Karly Leveque's Third Team selection in 2016 and Karissa Dixon's Honorable Mention selection in 2014, Nikki McElligott Third Team in 2004, and 2005 and Carmen Arroquero Honorable Mention in 1985.

"I am thrilled that the NAIA recognized what an exceptional player Nohea is and has been for the Lady Owls the past 4 years," said Head Coach Scott Meredith. "We are a very balanced offensive team but she filled up the stat sheet every game and led our team in almost every category. Nohea had a fantastic tournament in Sioux City and committee members saw her play in person. She was a tremendous leader for this team and has 31 entries in our programs record book. Nohea had an outstanding career at Oregon Tech and I couldn't be prouder to be her coach."

Waiwaiole averaged 10.9 points, 6.1 rebounds, and 4.6 assists in leading her team to a second place finish in the Cascade Conference at 16-4 and a 24-10 overall record leading her team into the second round of the NAIA National Tournament.

Waiwaiole finishes with 1,192 (6th all-time) career points, 708 rebounds (3rd all-time) and is the all-time leader in assists at OIT with 411.

Name Institution Position
*Maya Ah You Dias Eastern Oregon G
Kendall Bradbury Taylor (Ind.) F
Kyendi Cheeseman Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) G
Kassidy De Jong Northwestern (Iowa) G
Philly Lammers Concordia (Neb.) F
Elsa Paulsson-Glantz Southeastern (Fla.) G
Kelli Schrauth Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) F
Kelsie Cleeton College of the Ozarks (Mo.) G
Nicole Buckingham Lawrence Tech (Mich.) G
Jordan Woodvine Corban (Ore.) F
*NAIA National Player of the Year
Name Institution Position
Kaitlin Aylward St. Francis (Ill.) C
Mackenzie Cann Southeastern (Fla.) G
Sarah Carr Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) F
Kylah Comley Sterling (Kan.) G
Dejah Cyrus Marian (Ind.) F
Samantha Earl Antelope Valley (Calif.) G
Shandra Farmer Hastings (Neb.) G
Erika Feenstra Dordt (Iowa) F
Cassidy Johnson College of the Ozarks (Mo.) G
Kendall Knapke Indiana Tech F
Name Institution Position
Mia Belvin UC Merced (Calif.) G
Jaida Carter Rio Grande (Ohio) G
Joelle Ertl Mayville State (N.D.) G
Michaela Faber Aquinas (Mich.) C
Darbi Gustafson Northwestern (Iowa) C
Jess Learned Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) F
Morgan Perkins St. Andrews (N.C) C
Grayce Roach IU Northwest (Ind.) G
Danae Ruiz Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) G
Nohea Waiwaiole Oregon Tech G
Name Institution Position
Samara Auguste St. Thomas (Fla.) G
Kanesha Battle Florida Memorial G
Becca Buchs Taylor (Ind.) G
Paige Bunn Avila (Mo.) F
Alyssa Case College of Idaho G
Taylor Cockerill Condcordia (Neb.) G
Karli Combs Bryan (Tenn.) G
Morgan Ediger Tabor (Kan.) G
Chanel Fanter Saint Xavier (Ill.) F
Sarah Fryman Huntington (Ind.) F
Kara Gerka Saint Francis (Ind.) F
Haley Hall Alice Lloyd (Ky.) G
Mackenzie Huber Valley City State (N.D.) C
Nicole Ignasiak Indiana Wesleyan F
De Ann Kauffman Indiana Tech F
Deandra Luna Bryan (Tenn.) PG
Elexis Martinez Bellevue (Neb.) F
Sierra Mitchell Morningside (Iowa) G
Rylie Osthus Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) G
Savannah Shamblin WVU Tech (W.Va.) G
Katie Snow Concordia (Mich.) G
Emylyn Wright Judson (Ill.) G
Oregon Tech Owl Head.jpg